ExZenToo - a basic Linux GUI

Started by kjoe, January 18, 2013, 07:50:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kjoe

Dear Linux community,

Three months ago I worked on a little holiday project that was inspired by two facts:
-  I once again had forgotten how to use exiftool correctly at the command line
-  I could not find a graphical user interface (GUI) for the Linux operating system

So, I decided to come up with a simple GUI for exiftool that offers the commands I usually need. As I am not a programmer, I was looking for a simple solution and that turned out to be a bash script that uses Zenity as a GUI. I named it ExZenToo which is derived from 'Exif Zenity Tool'

It offers a very, very basic GUI when compared to BogdanH's ExiftoolGUI for Windows or other GUIs.

It focuses on
- modifying EXIF times (e.g. to synchronize images taken with different digital cameras or to prepare images for GPS tagging)
- removing/clearing EXIF data (e.g. before publishing an image)
- entering new EXIF data including copyright information
- copying EXIF data (e.g. to transfer EXIF data from a single photo into a newly stitched panorama)
- renaming files based on EXIF time or changing the file modification date (mtime)

The GUI cannot display images. If I want to display images, I use Geeqie which also provides a panel showing currently embedded EXIF and meta data. To add GPS data and location information I then use GeoTag.

Although I realized yesterday that a python based GUI has become available since I have started the project, I still want to provide you with my script hoping that it may be useful to someone out there.

ExZenToo greatly differs from other available GUI as it
-  guides you through the program step by step
-  can easily be adapted by anyone to his/her needs (I put much effort in providing clear comments within the script, so anyone with even a little knowledge in bash-scripting should be able to carry out adaptations)