Main Menu

Recent posts

Newbies / XMP-dc: Subject
Last post by prestonmcafee - Today at 12:33:22 PM
I'm trying to erase a field XMP-dc: Subject.  The relevant section from the exiftool list:

---- XMP-dc ----
Subject                         : Toni, Zoe Phelps, Sophie
Title                           :
Description                     :

I'm running exiftool using python and the relevant piece is

keywords = ""
subject = ""
files = [docroot+'2005/Apr/66.jpg']
with exiftool.ExifToolHelper() as et:
    # Execute the exiftool
    et.execute(
        f'-EXIF:XPKeywords={keywords}',
        f'-XMP-dc:Subject=subject',
        f'-overwrite_original',
        *files
    )

The code eliminates XPKeywords successfully on jpgs that have that entry, which makes me think the problem is my target of XMP-dc:Subject, but I'm a newbie with exiftool.  I attach the original image and the exiftool output.  Once I learn how to do this, I will apply to 36K images as well as know more about exiftool.
Quote from: wywh on Today at 07:57:17 AMFor a while I was confused to read that because many eastern countries like Japan do not use DST. But then it crossed my mind that you refer to the U.S. east. Doh!

Heh, sorry.  You used -05:00 in your example, so I was trying to indicate that time zone without reference to Standard or Daylight time.

Quote[rant]I wish DST was no longer used anywhere.

I'm with you.
The "exiftool" Application / Re: Add timezone to MOV video ...
Last post by wywh - Today at 07:57:17 AM
Quote from: StarGeek on May 23, 2024, 04:45:38 PMTimeZone is supposed to contain the base time zone without regards to any possible Daylight Savings time change. For example, for Eastern time zone, it should always remain set at -05:00.  The DaylightSavings is the indicator for when the camera is supposed to add an hour or not.

For a while I was confused to read that because many eastern countries like Japan do not use DST. But then it crossed my mind that you refer to the U.S. east. Doh!