Read and Copy Exif data to multiple images Matlab

Started by christinak, February 19, 2017, 09:19:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

christinak

Hello,

First of all I am sorry if this is answered somewhere else but I couldn't find a solution.
I am quite new to programming and also to Matlab so if this can be done in Python for example, feel free to give me a push (however I am not sure on how to run exiftool from python).

My problem:
When pre-precessing images in Matlab and using imwrite to save the output, all the metadata from the original images are lost.
I used exiftool from command prompt and saw that it can successfully copy and paste the metadata from one image to another but I need to run it in like for like 1000 of images so its not possible to specify the names and paths everytime.
So I need to create a small loop with exiftool that can 1. read per input image all the metadata and 2.search for the same name image on the output images and 3.copy the medatada.
So far I have something like that

Images = dir('F:\*.jpg'); %Initial images
CorImages = dir('F:\Cor\*jpg'); %Corrected images after pre-processing

for i=1:length (Images)
    im = imread( fullfile('F:\', Images(i).name ) );
    exifdata = getexif(im);
    for k=1:length (CorImages)
        cim = imread( fullfile('F:\Cor', CorImages(i).name) );
        if Images(i).name == CorImages(k).name
            status = putexif(cim); %apparently something missing here?
        end
    end
end

When I run this I get this error
Error using horzcat
Dimensions of matrices being concatenated are not consistent.

Error in getexif (line 26)
TS=[ '"' test '" -s "' fname '"'];

I would appreciate any help..

Hayo Baan

No need for loops :) To copy metadata from existing images in different directories can all be done with a single exiftool command:
exiftool -tagsfromfile F:\%f.%e -ext JPG F:\Cor
This will copy the metadata from the files in F:\ to the files in F:\Cor for all files in F:\Cor.