Journey in transitioning from Windows Live Photo Gallery to Digikam

Started by Frh, June 01, 2020, 06:20:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Frh

Hello,

After a lot of research, and thanks to this forum and exiftool, I've been able to address a series of problems with my collection of family pictures.  I figured that documenting my findings might help others facing similar issues, and would be a way of giving back.  I wouldn't have been able to solve this without the content in this forum, and I have been immensely impressed by the responsiveness and knowledge demonstrated by its participants.  You have answered many of my questions without me having to ask: thank you!

So here goes my situation: I'm a casual photographer, with a collection of ~85k family pictures and archives of old scanned documents gathered from our extended family (so a variety of sources, and a variety of editing journeys for these pictures).  We used Windows Live Photo Gallery (WLPG) for tagging and commenting on pictures for years, until this month when I decided it was past time to look for an alternative.  I chose Digikam for its ability to store metadata in the files themselves, a must have for me after lots of work lost with Picasa's demise a few years back.  Thanks to the script shared on this forum https://exiftool.org/forum/index.php?topic=4361.0, I was able to get Digikam to recognize the face tags we had painstakingly entered over the years, in particular on scans of 50+ year old pictures of distant relatives.