Correct syntax to limit scope of files modified?

Started by tenthumbs, January 10, 2018, 04:24:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tenthumbs

Hi. Total noob here, sorry for having to ask the obvious, please be gentle...

I'm running ExifTool 10.74 on a Mac (macOS 10.12.4).

I'm looking to perform a simple ShiftTime operation on a set of files (a very common scenario, I'm sure: went on vacation, forgot to set multiple cameras' time zone for local time; now, all time stamps are off by 7 hours).  It seems I need to run the 'AllDates' shortcut (+=7) on these files. OK, got the concept...

Before running this on all 12,000 images from my last vacation, I want to be sure I have the syntax and other stuff correct (I especially want to make sure I don't modify all the files on my computer...).  So I have some test files on an external volume to play with.  My questions here are about the appropriate syntax to 1) get the desired ShiftTime result, and 2) ensure the ShiftTime operation only points to the files on that external volume, not everything everywhere on the computer.

My concern is amplified by my very limited experience running terminal commands (as you will see here).

So, I can launch the Terminal app, in that I believe the correct syntax to adjust all Exif dates by +7 hours would be:

exiftool -AllDates+=7  Correct?

But if I want to ensure this only operates on the files located on an external drive named "FooDrive", what's the best way to accomplish that?

In the documentation for the Date/Time Shift Feature, the example shown is:

exiftool -AllDates-=1 DIR

However, I don't understand the use of the "DIR" parameter/switch(?) there.  Yeah, I presume its a variable for the directory...but how exactly is this used in practice?

Does one launch the Terminal app, and then before invoking exiftool, navigate to the target directory (using cd /Volumes/FooDrive and then run ExifTool  -AllDates+=7 DIR?