Help joining Json from Google Takeout

Started by Cobito, August 28, 2019, 02:43:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Cobito

Hello! First of all sorry if this was already posted, i couldnt find anything that i could completely understand, as English isnt my first language nor i have a lot of knowledge in cmd/terminal commands. As i said in the title, I downloaded my whole G Photos and have lots of Json, which first i deleted, while most of my photos kept their metadata, many didnt being the date captured the day the photos were downloaded, so got to ExifTool as i want to "join" or merge(dont know the correct term) the json to the many types of media files that i have, but in every tutorial or guide i couldnt fully understand what i should do, neither i know if it would be the same in MacOs or windows, is there any explained(maybe with images or video, better) tutorial of how should i do it? Thanks a lot!

Phil Harvey

This depends a lot on the format of the JSON you want to import and the type of files you want to write.  Can you post a sample of the JSON and tell me what types of files you want to write this metadata to?

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

Cobito

File types are Jpg, PNG, HEIC, MOV, MP4, Vob AVI. there may be another types left, but this are the main. would it be the same if i post any .json? for example this is one (of more than 10k images+videos)
{
  "title": "2006 049.jpg",
  "description": "",
  "imageViews": "0",
  "creationTime": {
    "timestamp": "1454292090",
    "formatted": "1 feb. 2016 2:01:30 UTC"
  },
  "modificationTime": {
    "timestamp": "1563982867",
    "formatted": "24 jul. 2019 15:41:07 UTC"
  },
  "geoData": {
    "latitude": 0.0,
    "longitude": 0.0,
    "altitude": 0.0,
    "latitudeSpan": 0.0,
    "longitudeSpan": 0.0
  },
  "geoDataExif": {