Removing all MetaData from PDF files

Started by craisin, February 21, 2012, 11:29:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

craisin

I am new to all this (I must say it all looks absolutely terrific!)

I want to REMOVE the metadata and hidden data from PDF files while still retaining the originals.

What command line do I write to do this?
I have tried running it already, but the original files seem to stay there4 and no new files are written.

Many thanks

Chris (craisin)
Australia

Phil Harvey

Hi Chris,

The command

exiftool -all= some.pdf

will "remove" all metadata from the file "some.pdf".  A file called "some.pdf_original" will be saved.  This is the original file before removing the metadata.  To delete the original when writing, use -overwrite_original.

I used quotes around "remove" because for PDF files the metadata is only removed from the document information dictionary, and not actually deleted from the file.  This allows the information to be recovered later with this command:

exiftool -pdf-update:all= some.pdf

You can read about this in the PDF Tags documentation.

It sounds from your description as if you would like to delete this information permanently from the file.  You should be able to do this by using the acrobat distiller to linearize the PDF after removing the metadata with ExifTool, but I haven't actually tested this myself.

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

craisin

Thanks for such a quick and comprehensive response.

I DO want to remove the data permanently, so I will investigate the linearization (what a word!)
agter running the files through ExifTool.

Actually, would you need to do that, or would linearization remove it anyway?

Cheers
Chris

Phil Harvey

Hi Chris,