Trying to use ExifTool to batch apply metadata to folder of JPEGs

Started by Rgn, January 07, 2021, 11:33:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rgn

Hello, I am a newbie and not a programmer. I'm trying to apply metadata from a CSV file to a folder of JPEGs. Both the CSV file and JPEG folder are in the same directory. But when I tried to run the command I got messages saying there was an error opening the CSV file and no file was specified. 
I'm working on Windows 10 on a PC.
The csv file is called: Kessler_metadata_2.csv
The folder of images is called: KESImages_2

C:\Users\rgnew>exiftool -csv="c:\Users\rgnew\Documents\Kaminer\Kessler_metadata_2.csv"Error opening CSV file"c:\Users\rgnew\Documents\Kaminer\KESImages_2\" No file specified

Phil Harvey

Your command looks to be mixed up with the error messages in your post.  The command should be something like this:

exiftool -csv="c:\Users\rgnew\Documents\Kaminer\Kessler_metadata_2.csv" "c:\Users\rgnew\Documents\Kaminer\KESImages_2"

And the CSV file will need a first column with a heading of "SourceFile" and entries with full path names like "c:/Users/rgnew/Documents/Kaminer/KESImages_2/image.jpg" etc.

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

Rgn

Thanks, Phil. Do I need to specify the location of exiftool.exe in the command? Currently, it is in a subfile of Users. Should it be somewhere else instead?

And thanks for the tip about the SourceFile column. We have that set up properly but it was not the first column so I just fixed that.

StarGeek

Quote from: Rgn on January 08, 2021, 11:28:26 AM
Thanks, Phil. Do I need to specify the location of exiftool.exe in the command? Currently, it is in a subfile of Users. Should it be somewhere else instead?