extracting date and time into two cells and removing file extension

Started by fototastic, May 11, 2021, 12:10:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

fototastic

Hi Phil,

Hope you can help. I am exporting metadata from a batch of several thousand images to a table / spreadsheet in order to create captions. This has worked really well thus far. I've been using the following command line in Terminal (I'm on a Mac) to export the filename, GPS latitude, GPS longitude, datetimeoriginal.

exiftool -filename -gpslatitude -gpslongitude -DateTimeOriginal -d '%d/%m/%Y %H:%M' -T -r /Volumes/WD\ 2TB\ Drive/images > metadata_output.txt

However, I want to:

a) export the filename without the file extension (.jpg etc)
and also
b) I want to separate the date (in the format DD/MM/YYYY) from the time (in the format HH:MM) so each will be in a separate cell. I can't work out how to do either of these things.

As I'm a newbie at this, and I'm a little stuck!

EXIFTool is brilliant BTW! Thank you Phil

StarGeek

Quote from: fototastic on May 11, 2021, 12:10:41 PM
a) export the filename without the file extension (.jpg etc)

If you're using version 12.22 or higher, you can use the BaseName tag, otherwise you would use add the Basename tag from the example.config file to your .exiftool_config file or use ${filename;s/\.[^\.]+$/ /} in the option below.

Quoteb) I want to separate the date (in the format DD/MM/YYYY) from the time (in the format HH:MM) so each will be in a separate cell. I can't work out how to do either of these things.

That would be quite a bit trickier.  You can't have multiple -d (-dateFormat) options.  One way to do it would be to do it as post processing in the spreadsheet program.  Spreadsheets aren't my area of expertise, but I'm pretty sure there's a way to split a column into two, separating on the space character.