Write exif tags by extracting parts of the filename

Started by endelos, January 09, 2022, 12:33:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

endelos

Hi everybody,

I'm a complete newbie with ExifTool, and I'm struggling to extract parts of the filename of my images.

My goal is to write different tags from those parts.
Ex :
My filename : date. title - tech - dimensions - location
1638-39c. Mercury takes Bacchus to be Brought up by Nymphs - oil on canvas - 113 x 135 cm - St Petersburg, The Hermitage
(some dates are numbers only: just "1638.")

date > EXIF: XPKeywords
title > EXIF: ImageDescription
tech > EXIF: XPSubject
dimensions > EXIF: XPComment
location > EXIF: Copyright

I could find a bit of documentation here and there but I'm very bad at using REGEX, the best I've come up with for now is :
exiftool "-exif:XPKeywords<${Filename;s/\..*//}" "-exif:imagedescription<${Filename;s/-.*//}" "-Copyright<${Filename;s/.*?cm\s-(.*)\.[^.]+/$1/;}" "O:\myDir"

wich extract the location in copyright correctly (it copies everything after "cm -", which is always the end of the dimensions part).
It extracts everything before the first "." the date to XPKeywords.

I'm still working on the imageDescription's one...

I'm totally lost, if anyone is good with REGEX, I would really appreciate your help !
Thank you !

StarGeek

Try this
exiftool "-XPKeywords<${BaseName;m/(^[^\.]+)\. .+? - .+? - .+? - .+$/;$_=$1}" "-ImageDescription<${BaseName;m/^[^\.]+\. (.+?) - .+? - .+? - .+$/;$_=$1}" "-XPSubject<${BaseName;m/^[^\.]+\. .+? - (.+?) - .+? - .+$/;$_=$1}" "-XPComment<${BaseName;m/^[^\.]+\. .+? - .+? - (.+?) - .+$/;$_=$1}" "-Copyright<${BaseName;m/^[^\.]+\. .+? - .+? - .+? - (.+)$/;$_=$1}" /path/to/files/

Example output