---- ExifTool ---- group and subsequent tags?

Started by Shelia, April 21, 2022, 07:36:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Shelia

I'm pretty new to exiftool.  It's slow going but I'm persistent and catching on.

While using the command line tool I see that there is a group at the top of the list entitled ---- ExifTool ---- along with two tags below it, as follows:

exiftool filename.ext -a -s -g
---- ExifTool ----
ExifToolVersion                 : 12.41
Warning                         : [minor] The ExtractEmbedded option may find more tags in the media data

Is this data actually embedded into the file I'm working with?  If so, is exiftool responsible for creating that group and tags?  I try to remove it (ExifToolVersion) using this command and receive the shown error:

exiftool -ExifToolVersion= filename.ext
Warning: Sorry, ExifToolVersion is not writable
Nothing to do.

Is there anything I can do to remove this group and the tags below it?

StarGeek

No, these entries are not embedded data.  See the Extra Tags page.

ExifToolVersion is simply the current version of exiftoo that is running.  Warning is a tag which indicates what warnings occurred while running that command.  They are not necessarily problems with the file.  For example, the warning in your example doesn't mean there's something wrong with the file, just that there may be more data in the file that is not extracted with the current command.

See also the Composite tags page, which are tags that exiftool creates on the fly based upon other data that exists in the file.
* Did you read FAQ #3 and use the command listed there?
* Please use the Code button for exiftool code/output.

* Please include your OS, Exiftool version, and type of file you're processing (MP4, JPG, etc).

Shelia

Thank you, StarGeek, and thank you for the extra info.