exiftool not copying tags when run from shell script

Started by sirlunk, July 03, 2022, 09:57:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

sirlunk

Hello  :)

Running the following command in a terminal window on macos works great:
exiftool -tagsfromfile "/Users/bob/folder/image1.NEF" "/Users/bob/folder/image1.JPG" -overwrite_original

BUT, if I create a exiftoolbatch.command file with the above line replicated many times (one line per NEF/JPG file pair), I get the following message for every file:
Warning: No writable tags set from ...
  0 image files updated
  1 image files unchanged

I'm specifically using the full file path for every file. I've tried using single and double quotes (I don't know which I'm supposed to use in shell scripts, I'm new to macos). The JPG was extracted from the RAW file using exiftool. I've run "chmod u+x exiftoolbatch.command". I'm not invested in using shell scripts, but I've found that pasting multiple commands directly into the terminal window is hit and miss, with some commands being executed, and others not. I'm just looking for the simplest solution (slow is fine!) to reliably (a) extract JPG from RAW and (b) copy the exif tags from the RAW to the JPG file.

Many thanks in advance for your help!

Alan Clifford

Can you make your exiftoolbatch.command file available for us to look at?

StarGeek

It's absolutely impossible for us to tell you what's wrong unless we see what you're doing.  Full exact command and full exact output.

Since you're on Mac, you'll want to use single quotes, especially around any parameter with a dollar sign.
* Did you read FAQ #3 and use the command listed there?
* Please use the Code button for exiftool code/output.

* Please include your OS, Exiftool version, and type of file you're processing (MP4, JPG, etc).

sirlunk