Batch addition of comments from files using wildcards

Started by Daniel Eaton, June 06, 2013, 01:42:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Daniel Eaton

I am a fractal artist.  I now have all my work uploaded to Flickr.  What I am wanting to do is to embed the parameters for my fractals into the images themselves before loading them to Flickr.  For each JPG in my folder, I have an associated FLAME file (that is the file extension).  I know that I can do a  exiftool "-Comment<=test.flame" test.jpg  to load the comments - one at a time.  But I would also prefer to load the IPTC caption/description with that parameter data instead and load the comments with some standard boilerplate stuff (like URLs and such).  And I'd prefer to do this with wildcards.  Ultimately, I would love to run a command that would take the flame file and load it into the caption/description, load some standard boilerplate into the comments, and only process items that have no comments already.  Any help y'all can give a real newbie on this would be greatly appreciated.  I just can't figure out the wildcard part of this and cannot locate information on the caption/descirption IPTC field.

Phil Harvey

I don't know how you intend to expand the wildcards.  If it is from information in your FLAME file, then you would have to write a custom script to do this.  A specific example would be helpful.

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

Daniel Eaton

Wow!  That was quick!  :)  My current work folder has the following files in it:
2013-06-06_08-03-35.flame
2013-06-06_08-03-35.png
2013-06-06_08-03-37.flame
2013-06-06_08-03-37.png
2013-06-06_08-04-02.flame
2013-06-06_08-04-02.png
2013-06-06_08-13-56.flame
2013-06-06_08-13-56.png
2013-06-06_09-10-50.flame
2013-06-06_09-10-50.png
2013-06-06_09-15-18.flame
2013-06-06_09-15-18.png