Main Menu

Using -StayOpen

Started by Gnits, February 13, 2016, 09:24:28 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gnits

Background.

I would like to present a list of files (in a text file)  to Exiftool so I can get a simple csv containing Camera Make, Model and Serial No. (ie 1 line per image). I have 75,000 image files. (I am an amateur photographer).

I am using VBA to create a VB script on Windows 10.

I cannot use a simple *.* mechanicism as the filenames / extensions are too awkward and dealing with too many files.

I have successfully generated a script which creates an individual bat file to create a csv per image file, which I then read and process in VBA.

Unfortunately, as outlined in the documentation, this has a major overhead in performance as Exiftool is loaded each time.

I just discovered the -stay_open  and struggling to get it work, using one of the discussions here for inspiration.

So 2 related questions.
1. What is the most efficient method for me to use.
and or
2. If -stay_open is the optimum has anyone got a sample bat file and argument file I could use as a template to get me started.

Seriously impressed with ExifTool.

Phil Harvey

You don't need to use -stay_open if you want to do the same thing to a large number of files.  Just use -@ with a file list as you mentioned.  The -stay_open is useful to speed things up if you want to run exiftool a number of times with different options each time.

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

Gnits

Delighted to get such a prompt response.  I will explore the -@  further.

So, would it be too much to ask for an example bat file which would give me a csv file for say Make and Model using an argument file  holding the paths to c:\file_a.jpg and c:\file_b.jpg

Much appreciated.

Phil Harvey