Question to translation of values of Composite-tags

Started by herb, August 09, 2020, 04:37:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

herb

Hello Phil,

Some days ago I got some images captured by a Panasonic TZ202 camera.
As a curious developer I looked into its metadata and so I came to the question of translation of composite tags.

With Exiftool 12.03 the German language file "de.pm" contains 7 PrintConv entries for Panasonic composite tag 'AdvancedSceneMode':
Because it does not contain
- a translated tag-description and
- a PrintConv value for 'Off'
the output for command
exiftool.exe -a -lang de -advancedscenemode test.jpg
is (of course)
Advanced Scene Mode             : Off

After adding a tag-description to 'AdvancedSceneMode' in de.pm file the output contains the German tag description:
Erweiteter Szenenmodus          : Off

But:
After adding the PrintConv value: 'Off' => 'Aus' to de.pm the value of 'AdvancedSceneMode' is printed unchanged as 'Off'.
I had expected it to be 'Aus'.

So my question is: Is it an error/problem/... in Exiftool in general or is it a problem with this special tag or ... ?

I made a similar observation with a user-defined composite tag in config file, which is in principal defined as follows
TestComposite => {
   ValueConv => q{
      return "testvalue"
   },
},

After adding tag-description and PrintConv value to language file de.pm the description has been translated, but the value remains un-translated.
Did I something wrong in defintion of my user-defined testtag?

Thanks for your help in advance.
Best regards
herb

Phil Harvey

Hi Herb,

Good question.  I'll look into this.

In general, for this to work you need a PrintConv in the original tag definition.  However, this doesn't seem to work for Composite tags.  I'll investigate.

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).