Operation not permitted

Started by Sonja04, July 02, 2023, 10:43:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sonja04

Hello everyone,
I am new to Exiftool and I am originally using it in CamtrapR but since I wanted to shift the time of images from within R I realised there was a problem.
While trying to check if the timeshift was successful, I dragged and dropped an image to the ExifTool Reader application and I get the error message:
"./ExifToolReader_main.bash.x: ./exiftool: /usr/bin/perl: bad interpreter: Operation not permitted"
This will possibly explain why the operation in R was likely not successful either.

How can it be that the operation is not permitted? How can I resolve this?
FYI I am working on a Mac running the latest MacOS Monterey version available for my device (12.6.7)
If I try to extract the metadata by drag'n'drop onto the terminal I get "Pattern not found". (I have run "exiftool" before)

Thank you!
Sonja

StarGeek

A quick search found this similar StackOverflow question.  See if any of the answers there help.
* Did you read FAQ #3 and use the command listed there?
* Please use the Code button for exiftool code/output.

* Please include your OS, Exiftool version, and type of file you're processing (MP4, JPG, etc).

wywh

Does Terminal.app have Full Disk Access enabled at System Settings > Privacy & Security > Full Disk Access? (... > Files and Folders: Desktop, Documents, Removables also works in my setup).

Sonja04

Thanks a lot for all your suggestions!!
What helped in the end was the command of FAQ 3a although I don't know why it doesn't work in the usual way and I can not use the Desktop application. I was processing .jpg images in Exiftool Reader 1.0.8 on MacOS Monterey 12.6.7
However, I am very happy that I now could change dateTimeoriginal from within R. What slightly confuses me is that no copy was created of the originals but this is not a problem for me since I kept a copy myself.