merge dashcam footage with gps metadata

Started by GBalazs, June 26, 2024, 06:39:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

GBalazs

Hello there,
I'm totally new to ExifTool but I have a friend who have multiple 1 minute dashcam videos and she needs it to be merged into one video file however the GPS data should be preserved in the final file's EXIF. So the GPS data should be in sync with the video footage in the final export. I also have the GPS data in separate .gpx files.

If I do it with Premier Pro the GPS data is lost in the exported file even if I set it to preserve all metadata.

I'm thinking about a workaround to export the merged long video from Premier Pro and I add the GPS data back from a merged .gpx file with ExifTool.

Is it possible or is there another method?

I'm a media artist, has been worked with videos for more than 10 years but I have never dived so deep into EXIF GPS data.

I'm happy to learn so please link any source I can read to get closer to a solution.

Thank you in advance!

Phil Harvey

ExifTool doesn't have the ability to write timed GPS to video files.

I don't know anything that will do this.

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

GBalazs

GBalazs

So basically you saying there is no way to merge 1 minute dashcam footage into one longer video with keeping continuous GPS data in final EXIF, right?

I couldn't find any.

Phil Harvey

...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

StarGeek

My standard copy/paste when it comes to EXIF/GPS data in a video