Main Menu

trouble exporting metadata

Started by nataliekgrassi, August 25, 2024, 07:50:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

nataliekgrassi

Hi all,

I'm new to exiftool and having some issues exporting  metadata.

When I open command prompt and ask for a summary, it can retrieve all my metadata. But when I try to export it with the code below, I just get blank csv files

exiftool -csv -r "path\to\file" > file.csv

Does anybody know how I can fix this?

Thank you:)

StarGeek

What OS? I'm guessing Windows by the use of backslashes in "path\to\file". If so, are you using CMD or PowerShell?

Do you think the CSV file is empty because it doesn't load in a spreadsheet program, or have you tried opening the file in a text editor to double-check? And what spreadsheet program are you using? If I recall, Excel is much pickier about the CSV files it loads over Libre/OpenOffice.
* Did you read FAQ #3 and use the command listed there?
* Please use the Code button for exiftool code/output.

* Please include your OS, Exiftool version, and type of file you're processing (MP4, JPG, etc).

nataliekgrassi

Hi,

Thanks for your reply!

Yes, I'm on Windows (11), and using cmd. I'm using ExifTool version 12.92_64, and trying to analyse metadata from JPG files.

The csv file shows as 0KB and is blank both on Excel and in text editors.

Thank you!

Phil Harvey

Do you get an output with this command (ie. without the redirection)?:

exiftool -csv -r "path\to\file"

If this gives an output, then I think you are looking at the wrong out.csv file.  The file will be output in the current working directory.  Use the "pwd" command to see what that is.

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

nataliekgrassi

Hi Phil,

No, I'm not getting any outputs with that code either.

Thanks

StarGeek