How to set many of the same keywords in one click.

Started by dclecar, September 11, 2012, 07:11:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

dclecar

Hi all! Sorry, I'm a newbie. I have the following problem. I often write the same value in all of the key words. That's it:

-usercomment = "Moscow City" -comment = "Moscow City" -exif: imagedescription = "Moscow City" -iptc: caption-abstract = "Moscow City" -iptc: keywords = "Moscow City"

... and so on. How to do it easily with the help of a single variable. I would like to set many of the same keywords in one click. Is it real? I did not find the solution anywhere.

Phil Harvey

You can do this by creating an ExifTool user-defined shortcut tag.  Here is a config file that will do this:

%Image::ExifTool::UserDefined::Shortcuts = (
    MyComment => [
        'UserComment', 'Comment', 'EXIF:ImageDescription',
        'IPTC:Caption-Abstract', 'IPTC:Keywords',
    ],
);
1; # end

With this config file activated you should be able to write all of these tags by setting the value of MyComment (provided ExifToolGUI will let you write this tag, but I think you can add any tag to the Workspace, so hopefully this will work).

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

dclecar

Thanks, Phil!
But I've never had to deal with shortcuts tags. I read the FAQ, but did not understand. It's hard for me. I've always used just simple scripts in a .BAT file and short commands to ExifToolGUI. They work great and help me organize my photo archive!
Maybe I'm an idiot - I have tried to insert your code into the command line ExifToolGUI - it does not work. My version of the operating system WINDOWS 7. I replaced the single quotes to double quotes. It did not work.
At the moment, to set of the same keywords I use DOS command line variable. For this I created an additional .CMD file: