Main Menu

ExifToolGUI "stuck"

Started by Bergel, September 14, 2012, 04:42:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bergel

Hi everybody,

when searching for a solution to my ExifToolGUI problem, I came across this forum.

I've been using exiftool for a couple of years now (thanks a lot for this useful tool!) and recently happened to find out that there is a GUI for it. I installed it but have a problem running it. It starts up well and allows me to navigate etc. but as soon as I single-click on a file, the little turning circle shows up and nothing happens anymore. Task manager shows a process for ExifToolGUI and two processes called exiftool.exe, neither of which is consuming CPU time. Windows "Problem Details" says "Problem Event Name: AppHangB1".

"Exiftool direct" from the GUI works.

I am running Vista 32 bit, exiftool stand-alone version 8.61 and ExifTool GUI version 5.14.

Any idea?

Thanks a lot in advance!

Greetings,
Bergel

Phil Harvey

Sounds like ExifToolGUI can't find exiftool.  "exiftool.exe" must be somewhere in your PATH.  The recommended location is your WINDOWS directory.  See the Requirements and preparations section of the ExifToolGUI documentation.

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

Bergel

The location of exiftool.exe is in the PATH variable. And if ExifToolGUI couldn't find exiftool.exe, I wouldn't see exiftool.exe processes, and "Exiftool direct" wouldn't work, either, would it?

But just to make sure, I copied exiftool.exe to C:\Windows. Unfortunately, the results are the same...

Additional information: "Chart" in the middle window works. Even on a directory with more than 1000 files. But when I'm in "Filelist", as soon as I left-click a file -- any file -- , the application hangs.

Bergel

Some more information: