Comparing Dates

Started by robertoleonardo, November 17, 2018, 02:15:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

robertoleonardo

Hi - first off, exiftool is amazing and makes my little big OCD heart so happy - thank you, Phil.  Second, have been working with exiftool for a few months so am getting OKAY with it - but i am an attorney and not a programmer - so bear with me (and related: have searched aroun but don't see an answer to this exact question).  With that, and sorry for the length but some explanation seems necessary:

I'm trying to clean up the metadata from the masters folder of my apple photos library before a clean start with far superior lightroom.  One of the issues I haven't fully resolved is dates. For this example i'll stick with DateTimeOriginal and JPGs (i should be competent to modify any answers for other extensions/tags).  So I've got 4 types of JPGs:
(1) No DateTimeOriginal
(2) DateTimeOriginal matches folder [as i'm sure you know, apple organizes masters folders with YYYYMMDD-hhmmss as any given images parent folder. Not entirely clear to me how it generates this but i find that most of the time it's accurate enough for me - but not always, hence this question]
(3) DateTimeOriginal is shifted--presumably relating to timezones inconsistently being applied--x number of hours from parent folder.
(4) DateTimeOriginal is entirely different from parent folder.  I'm not exactly sure how many these are, and i'll probably just have to evaluate 1 by 1 and see which i go with, but if i have to do it in bulk i would sasy i'm more inclined to trust datetimeoriginal