Adding Flickr comments to JPEG files with ExifTool

Started by hightype, March 22, 2013, 12:27:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

hightype

Hi, I'm new to the forum (and to ExifTool aswell) and as I wasn't able to find any information on this I thought I'd ask it on the forum.

I would like to embed Flickr's own metadata to pictures saved from Flickr, such as image title, username etc. which is stored on Flickr.
Although there are applications that do this - Flickr Downloadr and the like - but they are very unstable and have lots of bugs (the usable ones such as Bulkr are expensive and they aren't even stable).
As I'm not an expert in programming or scripting, I wasn't able to work with Python or Perl scripts (belive me I tried but I gave up shortly).

I have found out that Flickr has the ability to generate an .xml file to a given photo stored on its servers, including all the Flickr metadata (creator, picture title, uploading date and so on):
http://www.flickr.com/services/api/flickr.photos.getInfo.html

...which generates an .xml file in the following format:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>
<photo id="2733" secret="123456" server="12" isfavorite="0" license="3" rotation="90" originalsecret="1bc09ce34a" originalformat="png">
  <owner nsid="12037949754@N01" username="Bees" realname="Cal Henderson" location="Bedford, UK" />
  <title>orford_castle_taster</title>
  <description>hello!</description>
  <visibility ispublic="1" isfriend="0" isfamily="0" />
  <dates posted="1100897479" taken="2004-11-19 12:51:19" takengranularity="0" lastupdate="1093022469" />
  <permissions permcomment="3" permaddmeta="2" />
  <editability cancomment="1" canaddmeta="1" />
  <comments>1</comments>
  <notes>
    <note id="313" author="12037949754@N01" authorname="Bees" x="10" y="10" w="50" h="50">foo</note>
  </notes>
  <tags>
    <tag id="1234" author="12037949754@N01" raw="woo yay">wooyay</tag>
    <tag id="1235" author="12037949754@N01" raw="hoopla">hoopla</tag>
  </tags>