How to get the -w option to write file?

Started by chuxter, July 24, 2016, 01:24:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

chuxter

I'm a beginner w/ exiftool. I have read a lot of the documentation. As I read, I try everything. When I got to the -w option, it didn't work. Not everything else worked either, but this was so simple and basic I focused on it.

I have tried:

• "exiftool -w txt dsc_7026.jpg"
  • "exiftool -w txt dsc_7026.jpg"
  • "exiftool -w .txt dsc_7026.jpg"
  • "exiftool -w! txt dsc_7026.jpg"

I get an error message:

Error creating dsc_7026.txt
       1 files could not be read
       0 output files created

The syntax I'm using must be wrong? Or it doesn't work w/ Windows 10?

BTW, when I type "exiftool dsc_7026.jpg" I see the EXIF data written to the DOS window. I can add some other options like "-sort" and they work.

Any help with this would be appreciated.

Hayo Baan

My guess is you do not have write access in the directory you are trying your command; exiftool -w txt FILE should just work (if FILE exists, of course).
Hayo Baan – Photography
Web: www.hayobaan.nl

Phil Harvey

What is the current working directory (the "pwd" command I think works in Windows to print the current working directory).  As hayo said, make sure you have write permission in this directory.

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

chuxter

Thank you both for replying. Why would I not have write permission? I'm a dummy. I wrote to the the folder from Windows because exiftool.exe and other plectra are there. In the Command Prompt window, I am located in that directory. When I type "dir" it shows exiftool.exe, 2 JPEG files, and the exifGUI directory.

I tried the "pwd"; didn't work. I tried "MD test" and access was denied. Hmmm...

Tried many versions of this: