Comand line to copy CreationDate to all tags (only mp4 and mov) and renaming

Started by TheMasahiro, July 03, 2017, 05:35:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

TheMasahiro

Hi, I'm a total newbie on coding stuff, but if you are so kind to help me i would be greatfull.

I was looking for a command line so i could copy all of my videos CreationDate tag to the create, modify, access (FileSystem tags) and trackdate tags all at once (and in case theres no CreationDate tag, i wanted it to copy the trackdate tag to the FileModify tag), and also i needed another command line so I could rename all those files to the trackdate date. On top of this i wanted it to search for only MP4 and MOV files in a sub directory of a specific folder.

(i hope its not very confusing)

I made a very basic line:

exiftool "-FileModifyDate<CreationDate" "-FileCreateDate<CreationDate" "-TrackCreateDate<CreationDate" "-FileModifyDate<TrackCreateDate" "-FileName<TrackCreateDate" -d %Y-%m-%d_%H.%M.%S.%%e 

I dont no how to go from here.

Another thing i was looking for is on a command to change the trackdate because i have some videos with the wrong trackdate, i want to manually insert the date and hour.

Thanks in advance

Phil Harvey

Your command is good so far, but you should use the TrackCreateDate first so that the CreateDate will override this if it exists.  You can't set the FileAccessDate.

Then add -ext options to only process the files you want.  So your command will look something like this:

exiftool "-FileModifyDate<TrackCreateDate" "-FileName<TrackCreateDate" "-FileModifyDate<CreationDate" "-FileCreateDate<CreationDate" "-TrackCreateDate<CreationDate" -d %Y-%m-%d_%H.%M.%S.%%e -ext mp4 -ext mov -o OUTDIR/ DIR

Also, I might suggest writing all this to a different output directory (OUTDIR) to make it easier to distinguish the originals afterward.  Also, you might want to add "-filename<creationdate" in case TrackCreateDate doesn't exist.

- Phil