Search & replace characters in 'Comments' metadata field

Started by Russell, January 04, 2018, 09:16:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Russell

Hi everyone

I have several thousand .jpg and .jpeg files, stored in multiple folders, with information about each one in the 'Comments' field of its 'Properties'.

I have used a 'dash' character (Alt+0150) in the 'Comments' field for most of these files, but I now want to replace the first occurrence of the 'dash' character with a 'colon' character – when I use exiftool to write the 'Comments' to a .csv file, the 'dash' character is shown as the three characters â€".

What is the code that I need to run to get exiftool to undertake this search and replace task, one folder at a time, please?

NOTE – I'm a novice when it comes to using exiftool, so please give an explicit break-down of whatever advice that you offer  ;) – thank-you.

Russell

Phil Harvey

Hi Russel,

The command will be something like this:

exiftool "-comment<${comment;s/-/:/ or undef $_}" -ext jpg -ext jpeg -r DIR

But the trick will be getting the encoding of "-" correct.  As a first attempt, try doing ALT+0150 instead of the "-" in the "s/-/" part of the command above.  Good luck.

I recommend running this on a test file first.  The command will preserve the original files with a "_original" added to the file name.  If you already have backups, the originals may be avoided by adding -overwrite_original to the command.  Or the originals my be deleted later with this command:

exiftool -delete_original -ext jpg -ext jpeg -r DIR

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

Russell

Hi Phil

Thank-you for getting back to me with a possible solution, and apologies for not having replied sooner.

Unfortunately, this hasn't worked. :-\