(Please be gentle. newbie here) - Picasa (IPTC) to Onedrive (EXIF?)

Started by flatjack, July 09, 2019, 11:56:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

flatjack

Hi there,

I've recently started using Onedrive, to keep all my stuff. This includes a lot of pictures, both personal and professional.

I've spent the past decade using Picasa to add captions to my pictures. The iterface was simple, metadata was saved to the actual pictures, search was excellent. What else could a guy ask for?
Now that I've started to use onedrive, the first thing I've noticed is that the captions were not showing in the Photo "app" included in onedrive.

After some research I discovered the (plainly obvious to this community) that Picasa wrote in IPTC fields and Onedrive/Windows reads other fields/ fields (that I wasn't able yet to discover).

My objective is to pass the IPTC captions to the fields that windows/onedrive reads, so that I can have the metadata available in my cloud repository.

I searched to forum to the best of my abilities, but I couldn't find a way to do it in batches.
Can you guys help me?

Cheers, flatjcak

Phil Harvey

The hard part is determining which tags you want to move where.  The easy part is doing this in a batch:

exiftool "-desttag1<srctag1" "-desttag2<srctag2" "-desttag3<srctag3" ... DIR

See FAQ 2 and 3 for help determining the tag names.

Good luck! :)

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

flatjack

AMAZING.

I DID IT!

You've planted the right seed Phill!

Now, for a more difficult trick: is it possible to do batches of directories within directories?

StarGeek

A little slow in my response, but I'm posting it anyway :D

That means that XPTitle doesn't exist for that file.

Are you sure you don't mean to write
exiftool "-XPTitle<Description" "C:/Users/flatjack/OneDrive/DSCN0655.JPG"