Fotostation problem... Fix? alternative?

Started by Julie with a camera, October 10, 2019, 12:19:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Julie with a camera

Hi everyone! I'm new to the forum.

I am a photographer with average tech skills and I found the forum researching metadata information so maybe someone will be able to help me with this. If you feel I might get an answer on an other forum, I'm also opened to suggestions.
So here's the issue:  I use a software called StockSubmitter to keyword-submit images to stock photography agencies and an other software called FotoStation as my database to organise my images into groups and add custom metadata field to my images so I can know where I am in the workflow. I also work on files that are synced to my computer from Dropbox.

I think Fotostation is playing with the metadata somehow because sometimes it adds weird metadata that reads like chinese characters in StockSubmitter. It doesn't always do that though, it affects about 10% of my folders, sometimes the full folder, sometimes part of the folder... haven't figured the logic yet.

I used a website called Get-metadata.com and it seems to add those character to fields called XP Titles, Keywords and Subject.

I guess i'm looking for a 3 part solution:

1- how to fix the images that are already affected
2-how do I prevent this from happening in the future ( most likely something inside FotoStation, but not sure)
3- If there is no fix, is there an other database program that allows users to add custom metadata fields like word, dates, y-n fields?

Thanks! I'll appreciate any help I can get!

Julie

Phil Harvey

Hi Julie,

My guess is that this is a byte-order problem, and that the affected files are big-endian byte order.  XP tags should always be stored in little-endian byte order, and in a big-endian file there are two ways this could go wrong:

Either

1.FotoStation writes XP tags in big-endian byte order.

or