How do I only copy "Keywords" from one set of .XMP to another?

Started by MASPHOTOMI, October 17, 2019, 12:45:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

MASPHOTOMI

I'm a Digital Imaging Technician and work on a lot of commercial projects..
One of my jobs on set is to go through all the photos from the shoot & apply "keywords" to the metadata.

example : Item number, Product name, Catalog Season, Model Name, Location, etc.

I'm doing this in Adobe Bridge, so all the tags are just getting added to the "Keywords" column within the .XMP file making it easy for the companies to find certain images later on in their DAM system.

HERE'S MY PROBLEM
There's another person on set editing the colors of each photo & saving the "Looks" to the same .XMP data, I have to wait for her to finish before I can begin. Is there a way I can copy only the Keywords from my set of XMP data to her XMP data without overwriting all the color & adjustments she made / vice versa? Being able to simultaneously work on the same batch of photos would speed up our workflow tremendously.

Attached is a screen shot of what I  add to the data, blacked out some sensitive info
Hopefully someone on here can help, I look forward to hearing from you guys!

Thanks - MAS 

Phil Harvey

To add the XMP "keywords" (ie. XMP-dc:Subject) from one file to another, you would do this:

exiftool -tagsfromfile ONE_FILE "-subject+<subject" ANOTHER_FILE

This may easily be done as a batch process if you can derive the name of one file from the other, or if they are named the same but in different directories.

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

StarGeek