Metadata Varies Slightly When Copying

Started by Abby, April 09, 2020, 01:32:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Abby

Hello All,

I am very new to ExifTool, so maybe (hopefully!) there is a relatively simple fix for my issue.  I have recently made a python script to watermarked copies of jpg images and I am using a batch file to use ExifTool to transfer the metadata.  Unfortunately, when I copy metadata from the original image to the new image, metadata values change ever so slightly.  A few examples would be ExposureBiasValue going from .344 to .34375 or GPSLatitude increasing by just .0000002656 seconds.  Because these photos are used for analysis, I would like to achieve the best accuracy possible.  Here is my current ExifTool call:

exiftool -F -tagsfromfile src.jpg -all:all dst.jpg

Any help would be appreciated!

Phil Harvey

...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

Abby

Unfortunately, that doesn't appear to have worked.  The gps coordinates are off by as much as they were before.  Here is the adjusted code for reference:

exiftool -F -n -tagsfromfile src.jpg -all:all dst.jpg

Phil Harvey

If you send me the image I can tell you exactly what is happening.  (my email is philharvey66 at gmail.com)

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

Phil Harvey

I got your sample.

First, I suggested using the -n option to avoid the print conversion and inverse print conversion when copying the value (see here for a diagram of the metadata flow), which may avoid some rounding problems.