Scanned negatives. Syncronize the 3 Date Time formats and add incremental time.

Started by Piet martyn, March 20, 2021, 12:53:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Piet martyn

Hi,
I have scanned 6000 negatives in TIFF format from 1978-2003,saved them in folder's for each year and entered in all the photos the date using photo mechanic, the time are not in order due to the scanning.
I want to syncronize the three Date Time formats for each photo so they are all the same to make it easier for sorting and to find any photo by capture date.

I would like to copy the date (DateTimeOriginal) to the capture time (DateCreated) and also reset the HH:MM:SS to 00:00:00 then increment all the files in the same folder by five seconds.

I am totally new to this and have tried to find a method to do this on the forum, using copy/paste for the commands, unfortunatly I am not used to this kind of programming. I am using the exiftoolGUI interface.

Does anybody who has scanned photos done anything similar that can provide me with the command sequence.
Any help will be gratly appreciated.
Best regards, Piet Martyn

StarGeek

I can't help with regards to the ExiftoolGUI, since it doesn't work on my system and it hasn't been supported in nearly 9 years.

I'm assuming you want to reset the time on DateTimeOriginal as well as CreateDate.

On the command line, it's a two step procedure, only slightly different from this Photo StackExchange answer.

First, you would run
exiftool "-AllDates<${DateTimeOriginal;s/ .*$//} 00:00:00}" /path/to/files/

This will copy the date and set the time to 00:00:00 for CreateDate, DateTimeOriginal, and ModifyDate.

You would then run this command, which will increment the time stamps by 5 seconds per file.
exiftool "-AllDates+<0:0:${filesequence;$_*=5}" /path/to/files/