Extract metadata into PostGreSQL database

Started by Sylvain M., April 20, 2020, 04:57:11 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sylvain M.

Morning, everyone,
I'm a modest developer, but I have a good base on SQL in PostGreSQL.
I'd like to export the metadata of my photos (> 130,000 at the moment) to a PostGreSQL database.
What do you think is the best way to do this?
Thank you for your advice.
Sylvain

Phil Harvey

Hi Sylvain,

I have an example Perl script that converts the ExifTool -listx output into an SQLite database (attached).  This isn't quite what you want, and the resulting SQL database may be more complex that you need, but it may give you an idea of how to do this.

The -listx output is an XML formatted output of all pre-defined ExifTool tags.  For extracting information from a file, you would use the -X option, which is RDF/XML formatting.  Or maybe JSON formatting with the -j option would be easier.

- Phil

Edit:  It's been a while since I looked at this script.  It uses the API, not the command-line application, so it doesn't use the -X option of the command-line application as I mentioned.  Using the API to extract information from a file you wouldn't have to use XML at all.  Instead, you would call ImageInfo() and parse the returned tag information hash.  But writing the output to SQL could be done using a technique similar to the attached script.
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

Sylvain M.

Thank you, Phil, for your response,
My level of English and development skills make it a bit complicated for me to put into practice.
I only know the command line program, not the API yet, so I'll read up on it.
However, the fact that it's SQLite and not PostGreSQL is not a problem at all! I mostly master SQL, so whatever the engine, I'll be fine if the data is in base.