News:

2023-03-15 Major improvements to the new Geolocation feature

Main Menu

Renaming Live Photos (jpg + mov) in a single folder

Started by zarr, May 26, 2020, 07:07:10 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

zarr

Hi,

I have been using exiftool for many years to rename images to YYYY-MM-DD HH.MM.SS - Camera.jpg.

I am having some trouble renaming my iOS Live Photos to match this format. It seems that the filenames for the mov and jpg element need to be the same in order for Apple Photos to recognise them as a single Live Photo. As discussed in a few other posts this is problematic because the timestamp between the mov and jpg can be different. I have seen the posts below which deal with moving the files into date based directories, but I can't figure out the command to keep them all in one directory.

Any ideas please?

thanks

StarGeek

If you are in the same time zone that the video was shot in (ignoring any Summer/Standard time difference), you can continue to use the same command.  All you have to do is add the -api QuickTimeUTC option.

So if your command was something like
exiftool -d "%Y-%m-%d %H.%M.%S" "-Filename<$CreateDate - ${Model;}.%e" /path/to/files
you could use
exiftool -api QuickTimeUTC -d "%Y-%m-%d %H.%M.%S" "-Filename<$CreateDate - ${Model;}.%e" /path/to/files

The reason the time stamps are different is because video time stamps are supposed to be stored in UTC, so the time exiftool lists will be off by the time zone.  This is because early camera's usually didn't know what time zone it was.  This has changed with camera phones, as they know what time zone they're in.

If you are not in the same time zone as the video, then you will have to use the GlobalTimeShift option instead.  Just set it to the time zone that the video was taken in.  For example, if I shot a video on the East Coast US and then started processing it at my home on the West Coast, I would not use the -api option and instead add
-GlobalTimeShift -5