Finding GPS data from individually exported frames of a video

Started by Ozman34, July 16, 2020, 12:27:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ozman34

I am new to exiftool but this question maybe to complex searching the forum.

In short, i am looking to find a way to get the gps metadata from the individual exported frames of a video from an Iphone using Exiftool or any other known tool.

The idea is to map out those frames with the gps coordinates and see how accurate the GPS coordinates are with a standard gps device or google earth.

Is this possible without having to manually enter the gps metadata.

When i export the video frames using FFmpeg .png and .jpg do NOT keep the gps metadata for each frame.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

StarGeek

While exiftool can't export frames because it's not an image/video manipulation program, it can export the gps data as a GPS track file.  See Inverse Geotagging.

You can download the format files from Github.  The command to use is under "Usage:" in the comments.
* Did you read FAQ #3 and use the command listed there?
* Please use the Code button for exiftool code/output.

* Please include your OS, Exiftool version, and type of file you're processing (MP4, JPG, etc).

Ozman34

Thanks. Tried to follow the steps but the .gpx and .kml files are not working in google maps or google earth. I will keep messing arounf with it. I feel like i am close. The videos i am using do have the gps data from exiftool but it doesnt seem to be adding the coordinates to the .gpx files.

Ozman34

I am a little confused on this part

"Since no directory was specified for gpx.fmt, this file must exist in the current directory when the above command is executed. (If the gpx.fmt file can't be found then the -p argument is interpreted as a string instead of a file name, and the text "gpx.fmt" is sent to the output, which isn't what we want.)"

StarGeek