How to create spreadsheet to GEOTag 1000 images for Website SEO

Started by photodata, October 31, 2020, 08:10:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

photodata

Hello, I have a website with lots of images. I have seen a handful of websites that allow anyone to geotag their images for SEO purposes. However these don't really seem like an option when you have over 1000 images that need to be tagged with unique GPS details.

I have just installed the latest Exiftool and renamed it as suggested on a Windows 10 Laptop. I have it running on command prompt and I tested an image and it displayed the details as expected.

I am new to this software and what I would like to understand if anyone can please help me, is how to create a spreadsheet where I list of all my image filenames in one column and the lat and long details in another column or 2. Then I would like to know the command for Exiftool to process the spreadsheet and add the unique GPS details for each image in one session.

If anyone can help with this it is very much appreciated

Thank you
Keith

Alan Clifford

Where is the gps data coming from?  Do you intend to type it in?

photodata

Yes Im going to collect the GPS lat and long details and enter it into the spreadsheet manually. thanks

StarGeek

For details, see the -csv option and FAQ #12.

The basic command would be
exiftool -n -csv -GPSLatitude -GPSLongitude >/path/to/Output.csv /path/to/files/

This will create a CSV file that looks like this
SourceFile,GPSLatitude,GPSLongitude
y:/!temp/Test4.jpg,40.6892,-74.0445

* Did you read FAQ #3 and use the command listed there?
* Please use the Code button for exiftool code/output.

* Please include your OS, Exiftool version, and type of file you're processing (MP4, JPG, etc).

Alan Clifford

I think you need a -csv in there

I just tried it in my temp directory
exiftool -n  -csv -GPSLatitude -GPSLongitude >output.csv -ext jpg .

and then just opened the file in openoffice.

StarGeek