Use of Metadata to Create Captions

Started by michaelw, February 11, 2021, 04:59:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

michaelw

Hi There
I wonder if some of the clever people on this Forum can help me. I am brand new to Exiftool.

I have around 250,000 + images a mixture of scanned images and images from a variety of digital cameras, which I am try to manage more effectively, a long job!

At present I am working on a series of Scanned Images which were scanned some years ago and given names such as:
1999 - 10 - 06 - In and around Red Rocks, Morrison, Colorado
1999 - 10 - 06 - In and around Red Rocks, Morrison, Colorado_0001
1999 - 10 - 06 - In and around Red Rocks, Morrison, Colorado_0002
1999 - 10 - 06 - In and around Red Rocks, Morrison, Colorado_0003
1999 - 10 - 06 - In and around Red Rocks, Morrison, Colorado_0004
1999 - 10 - 09 - South Park, Fairplay-Engine Room
1999 - 10 - 09 - South Park, Fairplay-Engine Room_0001
1999 - 10 - 09 - South Park, Fairplay-Engine Room_0002

and so on. Some of the file names have sequential numbers and some do not.

I want to use the filenames names as captions, and I want to use an action or batch process to do this.  I am using ACDSee Ultimate 2021 to manage and manipulate the images.

Thanks to help from the ACDSEE forum the method that has been suggested is to embed the filenames into  IPTC->ObjectName.  I can then use ACDSee to create captions. 

For those files that have the  _nnnn.jpg ending I am using exiftool "-iptc:ObjectName<${filename;s/_....\.jpg//i}" *.jpg which works perfectly.   However not surprisingly this does not work for those files that do not have the  _nnnn.jpg ending.  For these I use exiftool "-iptc:ObjectName<${filename;s/\.jpg//i}" *.jpg which again works but for the _nnnn.jpg files it puts the _nnnn back into IPTC->ObjectName.  Whichever order I run the Exiftoll command in the other files with a different naming structure is affected.