correction of GPS data by calculated modifications within exiftools?

Started by alfric, March 01, 2021, 04:25:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

alfric

Hi,
I am a bloody beginner in the use of scripts and programming languages. However, the great package of exiftool already allowed me to solve some issues in my project, but I assume that it could be done more elegantly.
My project: To install a uMap-based documentation of remarkable historical houses in our community. I collected >400 Fotos and was able to link them to the OSM map using uMap and the scripts Meijiro (here the links, if you are interested: [ http://umap.openstreetmap.fr] and [ https://github.com/dmpop/mejiro] (sorry, in German); the beta version of my map is [ http://u.osmfr.org/m/553313].
The problem was, that the position fixed in the exif is the position of the camera (iPhone), but not of the object. This makes it difficult, to assign a house number to the documented building.
I therefore designed a rough correction of the GPS data by an arbitrary offset of 15m into the image direction, so that at least the correct side of the street is hit. When exporting the location data and the imgDirection, I corrected a few test data by the following modification in an excel table:
Latitude offset by 0,00014, Longitude offset by =0,00021 (decimal degrees) what is equivalent to 15m.  The formula then is: corrected Latitude = Lat + (sin(Direction°+90°)*00014).  Corrected Longitude = Lon + (sin(Direction°)*00021).
My question: can that be calculated already within exiftool? Perhaps with composite tags? I have capitulated in understanding what to do.
Remains to say that exiftool is such a great project! And Phil, I love your fantastic bird photo gallery!
alfric

StarGeek

It sounds like it might be possible and it's giving me a few ideas.  Do you know what tag holds the Direction?  Run this command on the file to get the full data
exiftool -G1 -a -s file.jpg