Google TakeOut to Apple Photos

Started by Stijns, June 10, 2021, 07:24:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Stijns

Hi all

Total newbie at using ExifTool here, wanting to migrate from Google Photos to iCloud. Took the Takeout route (because during the years I edited/corrected descriptions, dates, etc. of pictures in Google Photos). So that got me a lot of json files accompanying my photos. My computer is a Macbook. By now spent quite some nights figuring out how to correctly export/import my precious pictures.

Then I found out about ExifTool and used (found on the web) this command line in Terminal (and used correct <DirToProcess> obv) as a test on one of the Takeout folders:

exiftool -r -d %s -tagsfromfile "%d/%F.json" "-GPSAltitude<GeoDataAltitude" "- GPSLatitude<GeoDataLatitude" "-GPSLatitudeRef<GeoDataLatitude" "- GPSLongitude<GeoDataLongitude" "-GPSLongitudeRef<GeoDataLongitude" "-Keywords<Tags" "- Subject<Tags" "-Caption-Abstract<Description" "-ImageDescription<Description" "- DateTimeOriginal<PhotoTakenTimeTimestamp" -ext "*" -overwrite_original -progress --ext json <DirToProcess>

This got me a LOT of errors (probably like 5 to 10% of all files), saying either one of these:
- "Error: Not a valid HEIC (looks more like a JPEG)" > no idea why this happened
- "Warning: Error opening file" > this happened to files with filenames ending with (1), (2),...
- "Warning: (minor) Maker notes could not be parsed" > this happened to files with long filenames such as "IMG_20190418_212211.jpg "

Even so, I imported the new files to the Photos app on my Macbook.
Results were mixed:
- Sometimes nothing was edited (the files where the error 'Not a valid HEIC' or 'Warning: error opening file' was produced)
- Videos never had their metadata updated (missing gps location and description/title)
- Sometimes 'title' and 'description' was updated (with the same data), sometimes only 'description'
- Timezones were never taken into account when updating the metadata