Adding new EXIF information.

Started by Allbiez, August 19, 2021, 05:26:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Allbiez

Hi Everyone,

1) Today someone asked me to fix some EXIF information and add new ones.
I watched a few videos and looked at the information on the site; but I still haven't found a solution.

I present an example below for clarity.

Information I want to add:
Tag: CompositeImage
Value: 2

How do I add this and any other information I want to the picture?
PS: I'm new at this so instead of providing a link please provide an example of what command I can do with it.

2) Also, why is the "Aperture Value" '.' or I can't write with numbers with ','?
Sample:
Aperture Value: 1.696

3) Let's say I have a list.
How do I get it to import the information in this list to all images.

You can find the information I want to add and the list of other examples from the link below.

Footnote: There is a "|" sign at the beginning of the information I want to add.

StarGeek

Start off by using the command in FAQ #3 to see the tag names and the location of those tags.  Copy/paste the results into the post, select the output and hit the Code button ->  Attaching text output is more time consuming than just putting it in the post.

The command in FAQ 3 gives you the actual names of the tags, not the descriptions (FAQ #2).  You would then simply set the tags with this, replacing "TAG" with the name of the tag you want to change
exiftool -TAG=NewValue -TAG=AnotherValue file.jpg
* Did you read FAQ #3 and use the command listed there?
* Please use the Code button for exiftool code/output.

* Please include your OS, Exiftool version, and type of file you're processing (MP4, JPG, etc).

Allbiez

Hi StarGeek,

I did what you said.
However, I think what I want is not the same as what you are describing.
I executed the command: exiftool -a -G1 -s c:\images\test.jpg

I saw the list.
But I already know how to change what's on this list.