IPTCDigest not current, UTF-8 vanishes or UTF-8 vanishes, IPTCDigest not current

Started by Jan Zimmermann, February 11, 2022, 12:04:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jan Zimmermann

Hello,

I am new to Exiftool, no expert, but I understand it's a great tool  :)

I used it to check some of my photos (I run a picture ageny for historic photography) and have problems with embedded and deleted code UTF-8 and a warning "IPTCDigest is not current. XMP may be out of sync"

This is my routine

I use Adobe Bridge (actual version, Creative Cloud) for writing IPTC data in my pictures. After this Exiftool shows these lines:

Current IPTC Digest             : 0dfd247b65f9008f28260cbcca8945ce
IPTC Digest                     : 0dfd247b65f9008f28260cbcca8945ce
Coded Character Set             : UTF8
Application Record Version      : 4

Then I load my picture into Picturemaxx database, a professional database service provider for media.

Everything seems ok, the German letters ä ö ü ß are displayed correctly on the Picturemaxx page.

But when I download pictures from this database, the code UTF-8 is missing. 

And Exiftool shows these lines:

Current IPTC Digest             : 5ddd0415f8b7ffce203bee9549d45602
IPTC Digest                     : 0dfd247b65f9008f28260cbcca8945ce
Warning                         : IPTCDigest is not current. XMP may be out of sync

After download Caption-Abstract looks like this   
LŸbeck, ..., MŠrz 1957     

So – what comes first? Do I have an old IPTC digest and the new at the database marks this? How to get the "current" ITPC?

Or is the problem that Picturemaxx is deleting UTF-8? And than IPTC Digest changes?

Any ideas out there? Maybe this is the wrong group, but it's seems tot be a rare problem and I couldn't find another forum that fits.

Thanks a lot, Jan

Phil Harvey

Hi Jan,

The IPTC of the downloaded pictures has been modified, but the IPTCDigest has not been updated, which results in the warning you see.