Strange Interaction Between Image::ExifTool and File::Find::Rule

Started by shadwell61, December 14, 2021, 03:23:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

shadwell61

This is probably my fault.  I am new to ExifTool and new to Perl, so have probably done something silly, but it has me baffled.

I wrote a Perl script that searches for image files in a source tree given with a -s argument and optionally copies or moves them to a destination directory.  The destination root is given by a -d argument and the actual directory is built from the "DateTimeOriginal" extracted using Image::ExifTool.  The iteration across the source tree is done with a File::Find::Rule.

I used it to process the C: drive on my whole laptop without trouble, so I turned attention to an old USB memory stick as the source.  This fails completely and analysis showed that the root cause is in here:

my $success = $exift->ExtractInfo( $file );

This calls returns $success = 0 with the Error tag set to "Error opening file".

During troubleshooting I have reduced my script to its bare bones:

• It ignores the result of the File::Find::Rule and calls ExtractInfo on the same hard-coded image file on the USB stick
  • The File::Find::Rule iterator is terminated after a single loop
What I find is that the call to ExtractInfo succeeds if I seed the iterator with the C: drive, but fails if I seed it with the D: drive, even though the results of the iterator are ignored.

Seeding with C: drive:

C:> perl ruletest2.pl -s C: -d Z:
Processing D:Personal/2019Christmas/IMG_20190928_130640.jpg
ExtractInfo succeeded
Died at ruletest2.pl line 49.
C:>

Seeding with the D: drive (USB stick):

C:>perl ruletest2.pl -s D: -d Z:
Processing D:Personal/2019Christmas/IMG_20190928_130640.jpg
ExtractInfo failed, status 0, error text: Error opening file
Died at ruletest2.pl line 49.
C:>

Here is the script in its cutdown form.

#!/usr/bin/env perl

use warnings;
use strict;

use Getopt::Long qw(:config no_ignore_case);