How extract motion data from Caddx Peanut / Insta360 go2 mp4 files for Gyroflow?

Started by MikeCswe, April 13, 2022, 05:11:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

MikeCswe

Although Gyroflow can read motion data directly from smaller Peanut/360 go 2 mp4 files, it can't extract the data from larger files. I know there is windows memory issue here but I was hoping to be able to get around that with Perl (Oliver Betz package), but first I need to understand how to do this on smaller files and get it to work before I move on to this step. As a noob I have to say that the documentation for ExifTool is overwelming when just trying to figure out how to do one specific thing so I am hoping to get a little help here. I did try the search function but all I get is a database error.

What is the command line for extracting motion data from "video.mp4" to a file that I can load in Gyroflow? Gyroflow appears to support motion data files in format .csv which (from what I can tell) ExifTool can write. Other listed file formats on motion data file opening in Gyroflow are ".txt, .bbl, .bfl, .mp4, .mov, .mxf, .insv, .gcsv and .360".

Edit: I'm not sure about the Gyroflow csv file. In the documentation I can only find information about the specific Gyrolow format gcsv: https://docs.gyroflow.xyz/logging/gcsv/

Phil Harvey

The first step is to determine if ExifTool can extract the information you want.  Run this command on a file to see:

exiftool -ee3 -G3 FILE

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

MikeCswe

It looks like it can. I ran -ee without -g3 ealier and it appears to be the same result with the exception of ---- DocXXXX ---- entries.

The output files have a several thousand of these entries. I'm not yet sure if they are enough for Gyroflow though.

Time Code                       : 145.206