Changing D70s to D70 with ExifTool

Started by Archive, May 12, 2010, 08:53:49 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Archive

[Originally posted by gallet on 2005-06-24 21:21:17-07]

Hi,

I'm new to all this command line stuff. But I've downloaded ExifTool5.35 and I have managed to get terminal to display the metadata in a NEF file.

However I want to change the model name from  D70s to D70 but I'm not sure what commands to enter to do this. I've looked through the html files but I've not been able to find out how to do this yet

Any help appreciated.

Archive

[Originally posted by gallet on 2005-06-25 04:10:00-07]

I've been grappling with the commands but I am finding it difficult to decipher. What I'm wanting to do is replace 'D70s' in the meta camara info with 'D70'. I cannot work out the correct sequence of commands to do this.

Archive

[Originally posted by exiftool on 2005-06-25 14:37:22-07]

To change the model name to "NIKON D70", you would type:

Code:
exiftool -model="NIKON D70" image.jpg

Did you read the FAQ?  It suggests running "exiftool -S" to show the tag names for all information.  Figuring out the tag name to use is the hardest part when you are writing new information.

Archive

[Originally posted by gallet on 2005-06-26 03:58:07-07]

Yes I've read the FAQ's and I almost got it right.

I had trouble finding the required '-model' option. When I extracted the meta info with -g I could just find 'Camera Model Name : NIKON D70s'. So I tried that as also 'CameraModelName'

How could I have found out that the correct tag was '-model'?  I printed out a list but that has Model,  Model2 and ModelAndVersion.

I don't follow the instructions for correctly installing ExifTool so that I don't have to change directories before using it.