Create Keywords in Lightroom Classic based on folder location

Started by GSC, July 21, 2024, 07:53:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

GSC

From the start, I'm not a programmer. I am looking for a way to provide keywords based on the containing folders. Thus:

In a USA folder, there would be a California folder; in that, there'd be a Los Angeles folder; in that folder, there would be a San Diego Zoo folder, a Los Angeles Zoo folder, and a San Francisco Zoo folder.

What I want to see in the Keyword metadata for any files in these folders, one would see:

USA, California, Los Angeles, San Diego Zoo
USA, California, Los Angeles, Los Angeles Zoo
USA, California, Los Angeles, San Francisco Zoo

I can do this manually, but I've got thousands of files. I'm hoping that this can be done software-wise, but, as stated, I am not a programmer. Can anyone help me?

For the record, I'm on a Mac.

Phil Harvey

Something like this will do:

exiftool "-subject<directory" -sep "/" -r DIR

where DIR is the root directory (folder) and the first word you want in the keywords.  To do this, you should first "cd" into the directory above this.  For example:

cd ~/Pictures

Then DIR would be "USA" for only the USA pictures, or "*" for everything in that folder.

The -sep "/" splits the string into individual keywords using "/" as a separator.

Notice I'm writing XMP Subject instead of IPTC Keywords because the old IPTC IIM format is being phased out.

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

GSC

Hi Phil.

Thank you. As I stated, I am a rank beginner on any kind of coding. I thank you for your code, but I have no idea what to put in, where to put that into Lightroom Classic, or how to enter it.

Do I do that for each image? For each folder? How? Where?