Main Menu

VB.net Examples

Started by Ian, October 01, 2010, 07:29:21 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ian

Hi.

I have looked at the example of the Exiftool Use below and the preview work in VS2008 Express Edition.

I'm new to using VB and I'm struggling with Trying to get out GPS data to 2 variable's LAT and LONG.  I want to convert my Cameras (TZ10 built in GPS) to Ordnance survey National Grid form.

Can some some point me in the correct direction for get the Exif data  in  variables ?

Thanks in anticipation

Ian

===TAKEN FROM https://exiftool.org/ BASIC VB EXAMMPLE=================
Dim ExifTool As New Process

ExifTool.StartInfo.FileName = "C:\WINDOWS\exiftool.exe"
ExifTool.StartInfo.Arguments = "-b -previewimage" + " " + Chr(34) + FileName + Chr(34)
ExifTool.StartInfo.UseShellExecute = False
ExifTool.StartInfo.RedirectStandardOutput = True
ExifTool.StartInfo.CreateNoWindow = True
ExifTool.Start()

pbx.Image = New Bitmap(ExifTool.StandardOutput.BaseStream).GetThumbnailImage(120, 80, Nothing, Nothing)

ExifTool.Close()
========================================================================================

Phil Harvey

Hi Ian,

It would be good if someone with VB experience could give you an example, but even not knowing VB the sample you posted could be used to extract lat and lon easily by replacing "-b -previewimage" with "-S -s -n -gpslatitute -gpslongitude", then when you do something like this:

var = ExifTool.StandardOutput.BaseStream

then var should contain latitude and longitude strings ending with a newline.  All you have to do then is separate the values and convert to numbers.

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

Ian

Hi Phil.