News:

2023-03-15 Major improvements to the new Geolocation feature

Main Menu

Importing GPS data from XMP sidecar files

Started by Alan, July 24, 2011, 10:11:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Alan

I found a very old post from you Bogdan on DPReview that implied you could batch import GPS data from XMP sidecar files produced by GPS software.  Reading the 4.3 doc, it looks like it's a one CR2/JPG/etc to one XMP file import.  Is there a way to batch import multiple like-named file pairs?

I'm a bit new at metadata processing, so forgive my next question.  I noticed that the GPS data from my imported sidecar file ends up in the XMP section and not the EXIF after import.  It appears to be accessible from other tools, but I was curious of why it's in XMP.    Here's what was in the sidecar:

<rdf:Description about="" xmlns:exif="http://ns.adobe.com/exif/1.0/">
      <exif:GPSVersionID>2.0.0.0</exif:GPSVersionID>
      <exif:GPSLatitude>53,20.71N</exif:GPSLatitude>
      <exif:GPSLongitude>6,15.55W</exif:GPSLongitude>
      <exif:GPSAltitude>24/1</exif:GPSAltitude>
      <exif:GPSAltitudeRef>0</exif:GPSAltitudeRef>
      <exif:GPSTimeStamp>2011-06-13T10:48:04Z</exif:GPSTimeStamp>
      <exif:GPSStatus>A</exif:GPSStatus>
      <exif:GPSMapDatum>WGS-84</exif:GPSMapDatum>
    </rdf:Description>

BogdanH

Hi Alan,

I'm a bit hurry right now, so I'll be short (hoping that Phil will jump in to help on this). I assume, you used GUI to geotag your photos? I ask, because from what I've tried, geo-data should be written into Exif section.
And, please, don't forget to read GUI manual (https://exiftool.org/gui/#m_expimp).

Bogdan

Phil Harvey

The exiftool command line to do this would be:

exiftool -tagsfromfile %d/%f.xmp -@ xmp2gps.args DIR