Help with speeding up ExifTool

Started by mball, May 16, 2012, 10:18:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mball

I am new to exiftool and trying to get the fastest response from within a c# application. I only want to extract the creation date and subject tags from a file. I have used the following code but I am sure there must be a way of optimizing this, I hope someone can help

This is the command line I am using "exiftool.exe -fast2 -G -t -m -q FILENAME" and I am using a class exiftoolwrapper to do the work

Then i use this code to get the tags, is there a better way of extracting just the XMP and Subject groups and if so would that increase speed

foreach (ExifTagItem tag in exiftool.AsEnumerable())
                    {
                        if (tag.group == "XMP" && tag.name == "Subject")
                            keytags = tag.value.Split(',');
                    }

Phil Harvey

The biggest gains (roughly 60x) would come if you can pre-launch exiftool.exe with the -stay_open option instead of executing exiftool for each file.

- Phil

...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

mball

Yes I saw that in the documentation but I couldnt work out how to do that

BogdanH

Hi,
I don't know C at all, but maybe I can still give you a hint...
Now, not knowing how "exiftoolwrapper" actually works, I assume ExifTool is called for each file from which you wish to get metadata -I assume that, because otherwise you wouldn't mentioned slow speed. If I am correct on this, then in regard of speed, that's the worst scenario of using ExifTool from within your application.
It's hard to say what's the best solution for you, without knowing more about your application (and how important part ExifTool there is). But in general there are few ways to increase speed: