Main Menu

NEWBIE! PDF question

Started by DaveY, February 27, 2013, 07:26:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DaveY

Hi all,

Newbie here, so be gentle!

Is it possible, using EXIFTOOL to extra info about any embedded images and colour info from a PDF file?

Thanks in advance,
Dave.

Phil Harvey

Hi Dave,

Sorry, ExifTool doesn't current extract information from embedded images in PDF files.

You can use the -v3 option to see everything that ExifTool is currently decoding in the PDF.  I'm not sure if you will be able to find the colour information, but it may be in there.

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

DaveY

Thanks for the reply Phil.

Looks like I might have to use DynaPDF - rather expensive - might blow the budget for this particular project.

BTW: Exiftool, for other projects I've used it on - is a great tool!

Best regards,
Dave.

Phil Harvey

Hi Dave,

I have had another request for this feature recently, so I took a look to see what would be involved in extracting information from embedded objects... It looks pretty simple actually.  I'll see what I can do to add this ability to the next release.  The only trick will be if different applications store embedded images differently.  I just tried writing a PDF with Word, and with the -v option I can see that it puts the embedded image in a Root/Pages/Kids/Resources/XObject dictionary.  All I need is to parse the stream for each of these objects.

There is also a Root/Pages/Kids/Resources/ColorSpace dictionary.  Could this contain the colour info you wanted?

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

DaveY

Hi again Phil - I didn't expect another response - so thank you kindly.