Author Topic: How can I add a simple line break to the output?  (Read 4820 times)

Shield4

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
How can I add a simple line break to the output?
« on: May 11, 2013, 07:54:53 AM »
I have been trying all sorts of ways to get this done.
I run Exiftool by right clicking (created registry entries for file associations) and selecting "exiftool".
This runs, for example,

"C:\Windows\EXIFTOOL.exe" "%1" -FileName -FNumber -ShutterSpeed -ISO -WhiteBalance -ColorTemperature -LightValue -pause

(I stripped out many of the other options I use for simplicity sake).

All I want to do is add a line break between let's say, ISO and White balance in the output text.

So right now my output would look like this:

File Name                       : 5E1A7364.MOV
F Number                        : 2.2
Shutter Speed                   : 1/60
ISO                             : 1234
White Balance                   : Auto
Color Temperature               : 3200
Light Value                     : 4.6
Measured EV                     : 3.13
Lens                            : 35.0 mm
Lens ID                         : Sigma 35mm f/1.4 DG HSM
Focal Length                    : 35.0 mm (35 mm equivalent: 34.0 mm)
Camera Temperature              : 25 C
Metering Mode                   : Center-weighted average
Exposure Program                : Manual
Shooting Mode                   : Manual
Exposure Compensation           : 0
Video Frame Rate                : 29.97
Avg Bitrate                     : 28.6 Mbps
Image Size                      : 1920x1080
Drive Mode                      : Continuous Shooting
Focus Mode                      : Manual Focus (3)
Record Mode                     : Video
Canon Exposure Mode             : Manual
Make                            : Canon
Model                           : Canon EOS 5D Mark III
Audio Sample Rate               : 48000
File Size                       : 1326 MB
Date/Time Original              : 2013:05:11 05:07:01
Compressor Version              : CanonAVC0010/03.00.00/00.00.00
Picture Style                   : Faithful
Sharpness                       : 0
Contrast                        : -4
Saturation                      : -1
Color Tone                      : Normal
-- press any key --

I want it to look like this:

File Name                       : 5E1A7364.MOV
F Number                        : 2.2
Shutter Speed                   : 1/60
ISO                             : 1234

White Balance                   : Auto
Color Temperature               : 3200
Light Value                     : 4.6
Measured EV                     : 3.13

Lens                            : 35.0 mm
Lens ID                         : Sigma 35mm f/1.4 DG HSM
Focal Length                    : 35.0 mm (35 mm equivalent: 34.0 mm)
Camera Temperature              : 25 C

Metering Mode    : et cetera
-- press any key --

*OR preferably something like this*


File Name                       : 5E1A7364.MOV
F Number                        : 2.2
Shutter Speed                   : 1/60
ISO                             : 1234
-------------------------------------
White Balance                   : Auto
Color Temperature               : 3200
Light Value                     : 4.6
Measured EV                     : 3.13
-------------------------------------
Lens                            : 35.0 mm
Lens ID                         : Sigma 35mm f/1.4 DG HSM
Focal Length                    : 35.0 mm (35 mm equivalent: 34.0 mm)
Camera Temperature              : 25 C

I just want it a tad easier to read.  I don't need to write tags, text files, or to a database.  This is just informational for me in a dos box which I close after the pause.

Please help me before I go crazy.
Love,
Shawn

Phil Harvey

  • ExifTool Author
  • Administrator
  • ExifTool Freak
  • *****
  • Posts: 16902
    • ExifTool Home Page
Re: How can I add a simple line break to the output?
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2013, 12:06:04 PM »
Hi Shawn,

The only way to do this is with the -p option.  You can create a format file in whatever format you want.  See the -p option in the application documentation for details.

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

Shield4

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: How can I add a simple line break to the output?
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2013, 02:28:44 PM »
Hi Shawn,

The only way to do this is with the -p option.  You can create a format file in whatever format you want.  See the -p option in the application documentation for details.

- Phil

But I'm not looking to create a file; merely output the information to screen.  Oh well.

Phil Harvey

  • ExifTool Author
  • Administrator
  • ExifTool Freak
  • *****
  • Posts: 16902
    • ExifTool Home Page
Re: How can I add a simple line break to the output?
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2013, 07:17:56 AM »
Yes,  the -p option allows you to format the screen output to suit your needs.

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

Alan Clifford

  • ExifTool Freak
  • *****
  • Posts: 479
    • A selection of Alan Clifford's photographs
Re: How can I add a simple line break to the output?
« Reply #4 on: May 13, 2013, 07:24:30 AM »
Instead of putting all the tags and formating you want on the command line,

exiftool -p '------$/Shutter speed ${ShutterSpeed}$/iso ${ISO}$/------$/$/White balance  ${WhiteBalance}$/$/' f500_0620.jpg

you put them in a file and put the file name in the command line.

So you create a file called, say testfile.txt and put in that

------$/Shutter speed ${ShutterSpeed}$/iso ${ISO}$/
------$/$/White balance  ${WhiteBalance}$/$/


then you use the command line

exiftool -p testfile.txt f500_0620.jpg

and get the output on your screen

Code: [Select]
------
Shutter speed 1/60
iso 400

------

White balance  Auto



Shield4

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: How can I add a simple line break to the output?
« Reply #5 on: May 13, 2013, 09:02:32 AM »
Will try that now.  Thank you very much!

Shield4

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: How can I add a simple line break to the output?
« Reply #6 on: May 13, 2013, 09:06:38 AM »
Brilliant!  Will need some tweaking but that's amazing!  Love EXIFTOOL!