Trying to stamp images with exiftool

Started by davidcalvin, August 01, 2013, 09:21:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

davidcalvin

Hello,

I am relatively new to exiftool. I need to stamp a series of images with GPS locations. I am following the directions that invole issuing:

xiftool -r -p gpx.fmt  IMG_0019.JPG > out.gpx

IMG_0019.JPG has GPS data. I am assuming that the above command will create a track file for me. I then use the outputted out.gpx file to stamp a non tagged image like this:

exiftool -p -geotag out.gpx /Users/me/Pictures/LBReplicateCache/

And I get:

1 directories scanned
    0 image files updated
    5 image files unchanged

I have also tried the command this way:

exiftool -geotag=out.gpx /Users/me/Pictures/LBReplicateCache/

With the same result. The .gpx file seems to have valid lat and longitude data in it. I am wondering if there is an issue with the file. Here is what the first command created:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<gpx version="1.0"
creator="ExifTool 9.33"
xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance"
xmlns="http://www.topografix.com/GPX/1/0"
xsi:schemaLocation="http://www.topografix.com/GPX/1/0 http://www.topografix.com/GPX/1/0/gpx.xsd">
<trk>
<number>1</number>
<trkseg>
<trkpt lat="25.0361666666667" lon="121.519">
  <ele>16.27441406</ele>
</trkpt>
</trkseg>
</trk>
</gpx>

Does that look valid? Man.. I am totally stuck. Any help would be thoroughly appreciated. I tried doing a search on the forum and came up empty.

Thanks,

David

Phil Harvey

Hi David,

If you read the documentation in out.gpx, the correct command is:

exiftool -p gpx.fmt -d %Y-%m-%dT%H:%M:%SZ FILE [...] > out.gpx

The problem is that you weren't formatting the timestamps correctly.

If it doesn't work after this, it is because the times between the two images are too far apart.

- Phil