Executing exiftool from within Automator on Mac OS X Snow Leopard

Started by agill, March 06, 2014, 09:26:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

agill

INTRODUCTION - Automator Wrapper for Exiftool
Firstly I'd note that exiftool seems extremely powerful and comprehensive to me - all credit to Phil Harvey for creating it and making it freely available.
I'm new to exiftool - a complete beginner, and give my thanks to StarGeek and Phil for the help they've given. What I've done is to put a Mac OS X Automator wrapper on certain aspects of exiftool to execute what I need to do, as I find this more convenient than using the command line. I'm posting this explanation to help anyone else who wants to do something similar - updates/suggestions/corrections are always welcome.

CREATING THE AUTOMATOR APP
I've attached a PDF of the workflow/app I created, alongside which I'll step through what's in there and why.

To start open (double-click) Automator.app which normally resides in the system level Applications folder of your Mac. When Automator opens it gives a dialog picturing the options available. I'd advise starting off with a Workflow as that's easy to edit, and can be saved as an app when you no longer need to change anything.

Once you've selected Workflow, ensure you're in the Actions tab (over on the top left), and you'll see 2 lists on the left, and a panel on the right. To create your app you'll drag from the list nearest the panel into the panel itself.